A piece of history - The Saxby Training Light

More than sixty years ago a small switch box and light was erected on a post between the edge of the road and the Francis Crescent playing field at the Saxby Road end where the club trained and often played matches.  It was put there by the club to control a single low-powered light used for mid-week training by the Camberwell-Glen Iris teams. Strangely it is still there - maybe it has been given heritage listing !

These were primitive conditions by today's standards.  With a single light, players could only see one half of the ball .  Not easy training but it was a real testament to the dedication of the many young (and older) men who loved lacrosse and helped to build our club.  Pictured are the members of the 1953 'B' Grade Premiership team who trained under the Saxby Light.  You might be able to spot in this playing group relatives of the Smith, Fox, Jackson and Jacobs family names that have ongoing connection with our club today.

Proudly sponsored by: